teach me how to find tower info/location using Router details

Topics Related to Cell Towers, Frequencies and Bands
Forum rules
Use the SEARCH function for related topics PRIOR to posting a new topic on the same subject.
ericj205
Has thanked: 0

teach me how to find tower info/location using Router details

Post by ericj205 »

New to the forum and DIY cellular modems/routers. I purchased a refurb teknikal 9500VA (WE-826-T w/ Quectel EC25 running GoldenOrb_2019-03-10) and configured it for use with the ATT $35 unlimited data SIM. I have the device working. Now I want to optimize it for my application and also learn how to locate the best tower/bands.

My first question, mainly out of curiosity (I'm a mech engineer). Is can someone explain to me how to find the cell tower that my device is connected to currently and see it visibly on a map?

Second question is what steps should I take next to determine if that is the best tower/band to be working off of and how to re-configure my device to take advantage of the best possible signal/bandwidth?

2019-12-13_18-26-06.png
Thanks in advance for your help!

-EJ
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
rramse

Re: teach me how to find tower info/location using Router details

Post by rramse »

Okay, I'll just get you started on this long, complicated process. First of all, your Network (HSPA) and cell ID (41663) indicate a non-LTE (slow 3g) connection. Probably because you are too far away to get an LTE signal. Before you do anything go here: https://opencellid.org/#zoom=15&lat=34. ... =-86.91392 and type in your MCC=310 MNC=410 LAC=22981 into the search bar and hit enter. Verify that your cell Location Area Code indicates Hartselle, Alabama. The 3g cell tower id is not in thier database. Now go here: https://www.cellmapper.net/map?MCC=310& ... ours=false and search for the nearest LTE tower. How far is the closest known tower? This is just the first step.