Advantage to reflash Mofi firmware?

Topics related to OpenWRT, LEDE, GoldenOrb, Linux and other firmware
Forum rules
Use the SEARCH function for related topics PRIOR to posting a new topic on the same subject.
A.Bursell

Advantage to reflash Mofi firmware?

Post by A.Bursell »

Hello,

I have a Mofi4500 on AT&T and am not satisfied with the speeds. A lot of it is due to signal strength, which is difficult to correct in this situation. However, I do see some funny things- like I normally connect to band 12/17 and band 2 for CA, when doing a signal scan I get a MUCH better signal on Band 4, but when I connect I never am able to get internet. It connects to the band, but doesn't connect to where I can use it. Not sure if this is firmware, hardware, or signal related. Just one example.

I'm wondering if there may be an advantage to running GoldenOrb instead of the Mofi firmware. I have never used it before, but I understand from reading here it is "better." For the most part, Mofi firmware has worked and I keep up on it with updates as they come out.

My questions are, would I be better off with different firmware, or am I just spinning my wheels? And, if it would be worth flashing, do I just do it through the Mofi manually flash firmware menu, or do I need to follow a different process?

Thanks!
JimHelms
Site Admin

Re: Advantage to reflash Mofi firmware?

Post by JimHelms »

A.Bursell wrote: Tue Nov 26, 2019 9:48 pm
My questions are, would I be better off with different firmware, or am I just spinning my wheels? And, if it would be worth flashing, do I just do it through the Mofi manually flash firmware menu, or do I need to follow a different process?

Thanks!
You can try a different firmware build, and if it brings no value, reflash it back to the MoFi firmware.

You will need to use THIS process to update the firmware which includes links to different builds.
gscheb

Post by gscheb »

Hello.