Did anyone figure out how to hold carrier aggregation with AT&T?

Forum rules
Use the SEARCH function for related topics PRIOR to posting a new topic on the same subject.
Dlkelley713
Has thanked: 0

Did anyone figure out how to hold carrier aggregation with AT&T?

Post by Dlkelley713 »

Hey Folks,
Newbie here. I have a WG1608 router with WiFix GoldenOrb_2022-03-23 and EM160R-GL modem on 07 firmware. I read through a very long thread about this subject, but I never saw any closure. I couldn't figure out so far how to determine what CA bands are being used, but my symptoms suggest that CA is being fully deployed when I first start/ reboot my router, but after a short time my speeds drop and never rebound unless I reboot. Based on that previous thread, this is common behavior for AT&T.

Did anyone come up with an automated way to keep CA enabled on ATT? BTW, I'm happy to learn, but I'm not much of a router / modem geek yet!

Thanks for any help!
Dan
eskaryo

Re: Did anyone figure out how to hold carrier aggregation with AT&T?

Post by eskaryo »

I'm on FirstNet which is an AT&T service and I did also experience this when I was running a WG1608 on ROOter / GoldenOrb. I moved to a different router and went with vanilla OpenWRT and my problem resolved. I did run ROOter on the new router for a few days and I think the problem did not occur, but not sure if I recall that correctly.

I aggregate on 12 & 66; 14 & 66; 66x4 with the only tower around. There is no 5g available here so sorry for leaving that blank.
Dlkelley713

Post by Dlkelley713 »

Thanks eskaryo,
That's very interesting. Mine was on OpenWRT when I got it and noticed the issue. I was hoping swapping to Rooter / GoldenOrb would "fix" it, but obviously it didn't.

Anyone else able to aggregate full-time with AT&T and Quectel modem? what router and modem do you use?

Thanks!
Dan
RJ2021

Post by RJ2021 »