How to enable AT commands of Foxconn T99W175 5G WWAN

Misc Mini PCI-E and M.2 Modem Card and USB Dongle Topics
Forum rules
Use the SEARCH function for related topics PRIOR to posting a new topic on the same subject.
Post Reply
econet
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2022 10:00 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0

How to enable AT commands of Foxconn T99W175 5G WWAN

Post by econet »

Hello.
I am now using Lenovo laptop carbon x1 gen 9 with Foxconn T99W175 5G WWAN card. (Qualcomm Snapdragon X55)
https://support.lenovo.com/us/en/downlo ... ga-6th-gen

Is there any way to enable AT commands feature on Windows 10/11?

There is no serial/COM port device in Windows device manager.
Also, putty cannot open any serial connection with the modem.

I need AT command to force the modem 4G radio only.
In some places there are very weak 5G signal, but the modem sticks to 5G rather than strong 4G signal, so that the connection speed severely dropped.

Thanks.
econet
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2022 10:00 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0

Re: How to enable AT commands of Foxconn T99W175 5G WWAN

Post by econet »

I found solution by myself.

1. Boot ubuntu from USB device
- I used Ubuntu 22 LTS, generated by Rufus app.
- You have to temporarily disable Lenovo secure boot.

2. Send AT command using ModemManager

Code: Select all

AT^CUSTOMER=4
-> this command changes modem model type to DW5930e (probably DELL modem?) and it automatically opens COM port.
(Default AT^CUSTOMER value for Lenovo X1 carbon is 6)

3. Remove USB device and boot back to Windows..
- enable secure boot
- modem shown as COM serial device on device manager!

4. Connect modem with putty serial.
- 'COM3' port was used in my environment.

5. Send AT command
4G & 3G ONLY

Code: Select all

AT^SLMODE=0,3
5G ENABLED (automatic)

Code: Select all

AT^SLMODE=0,0
6. More AT COMMANDS

Code: Select all

AT^CA_INFO?
LTE serving information :
PCC info: Band is LTE_B5, Band_width is 10.0 MHz
SCC1 info: Band is LTE_B3, Band_width is 20.0 MHz
PCC info: Band is NR5G_N78, Band_width is 100.0 MHz

Code: Select all

AT^SLBAND?
 WCDMA,Enable Bands :1,2,4,5,6,8,9,19,
 WCDMA,Disable Bands:
 LTE,Enable Bands :1,2,3,4,5,7,8,12,13,14,17,18,19,20,25,26,28,29,30,32,34,38,39,40,41,42,46,48,66,71,
 LTE,Disable Bands:
 NR5G,Enable Bands :1,2,3,5,7,8,12,20,28,38,41,66,71,77,78,79,
 NR5G,Disable Bands:

Code: Select all

AT^ABAND?
Radio interface: LTE
Active band: 5
BandWidth:10.0
Active channel: 2500

Code: Select all

AT^DEBUG?
RAT:LTE
mcc:***,mnc:***
lte_cell_id:****
lte_tac:*****
lte_tx_pwr:NA
lte_ant_rsrp:rx_diversity:3 (-105.7dBm,-107.6dBm,NA,NA)
pcell: lte_band:3 lte_band_width:20.0MHz
channel:1350 pci:***
lte_rsrp:-103.6dBm,rsrq:-12.2dB
lte_rssi:-72.5dBm,lte_snr:4.6dB
I deleted some information above (***) for privacy.


7. MORE COMMANDS
https://www.codico.com/de/mpattachment/ ... d/id/753/
AT+CLAC
&C
&D
&E
&F
&S
&V
&W
E
I
L
M
Q
V
X
Z
T
P
\Q
\S
\V
%V
D
A
H
O
S0
S2
S3
S4
S5
S6
S7
S8
S9
S10
S11
S30
S103
S104
+FCLASS
+ICF
+IFC
+IPR
+GMI
+GMM
+GMR
+GCAP
+GSN
+DR
+DS
+CMEE
+WS46
+PACSP
+CLCC
+SKUID
+FTM
+BUILDTIME
+VZWRSRP
+VZWRSRQ
+VZWAPNE
+SWITCHANT
+GPS
+GPS_INFO
+SWITCH_TX
+AGC
+DMACC
+OTADM
+PRL
+OMALOG
+OMANI
+OMAPOLL
+OMAHFA
+OMASTAT
+OMAMW
+OMAPOLLTIME
+OMAPOLLINTERVAL
+ATTDMACC
+ATTHOSTID
+HOSTMAN
+HOSTMOD
+CBST
+CRLP
+CV120
+CHSN
+CSSN
+CREG
+CGREG
+CEREG
+C5GREG
+CSCS
+CSTA
+CR
+CEER
+CRC
+CGDCONT
+CGDSCONT
+CGTFT
+CGEQREQ
+CGEQMIN
+CGEQOS
+CGCONTRDP
+CGSCONTRDP
+CGTFTRDP
+CGEQOSRDP
+CGQREQ
+CGQMIN
+CGEREP
+CGPADDR
+CGDATA
+CGCLASS
+CGPIAF
+C5GNSSAI
+C5GNSSAIRDP
+CGSMS
+CSMS
+CMGF
+CSAS
+CRES
+CSCA
+CSMP
+CSDH
+CSCB
+C5GSMS
+C5GUSMS
+ES
+ESA
+CMOD
+CEMODE
+CVHU
+QCGEQMIN
+QCGEQOS
+QCGEQREQ
+QCGQMIN
+QCGQREQ
+QCGTFT
+CEMBMSCFG
+CEMBMSSRV
+CEMBMSDATA
+CEMBMSCNT
+CEMBMSSAI
+CSQ
+CBC
+CPAS
+CPIN
+CMEC
+CIND
+CMER
+CGATT
+CGACT
+CGCMOD
+CPBS
+CPBR
+CPBF
+CPBW
+CPMS
+CNMI
+CMGL
+CMGR
+CMGS
+CMSS
+CMGW
+CMGD
+CMGC
+CNMA
+CMMS
+CHUP
+CCFC
+CCUG
+COPS
+CLCK
+CPWD
+CUSD
+CAOC
+CACM
+CAMM
+CPUC
+CCWA
+CHLD
+CIMI
+CGMI
+CGMM
+CGMR
+CGSN
+CNUM
+CSIM
+CRSM
+CCLK
+COPN
+CPOL
+CPLS
+CTZR
+CTZU
+CLAC
+CLIP
+COLP
+CDIP
+CTFR
+CLIR
+VTS
+ICCID
+CUAD
+CEAP
+CERP
+CSTF
+CSDF
+CVMOD
+CEN
+CNMPSD
+CMCCS
+CCMMD
+CCFCU
+CSUPI
+RESET
+DPR_ENABLE
+DPR
+OTARTN
+CFUN
$QCPWRDN
^TEMP
^SETCONFIG
+FOTA_DEBUG
$QCSIMSTAT
$QCPBMPREF
$CREG
$CCLK
$QCCNMI
*CNTI
$QCCLR
$QCDMR
$QCDNSP
$QCDNSS
$QCTER
$QCSIMAPP
$QCPINSTAT
$QCPDPP
$QCPDPLT
$QCDGEN
$QCPDPCFGE
$QCANTE
$QCRPW
$QCSQ
$CSQ
$QCSYSMODE
$QCCTM
$QCBANDPREF
^SYSINFO
^SYSCONFIG
^CARDMODE
^DSCI
$QCVOLT
$QCHWREV
$QCBOOTVER
$QCDEFPROF
$QCMRUE
$QCMRUC
$QCAPNE
$QCPDPIMSCFGE
$QCCLAC
^SPN
$QCRMCALL
$QCDRX
$QCRSRP
$QCRSRQ
$QCACQDBC
$QCATMOD
$QCCOPS
^MODE
$QCSIMT
$QCNSP
$QCRCIND
$QCCSGCOPS
$QCPDPCFGEXT
$QCPRFCRT
$QCPRFMOD
$QCRSCP
$QCECNO
$QCPCOLIST
$QCMSISDN
$QCPCOMSISDN
$QCCALLATTR
$QCIMSSRV
$QCCCFC
^SBFS
^GETIMEI
^VERSION
^BodySaron
$GTAC
$STAC
^SLMODE
^GETLTECAT
^IMSTESTMODE
^IMSTESTMODE2
^RX_CHAINS
^ARD_ENABLE
^RSSI
^QTUNER_ENABLE
^GPS_START
^GPS_STOP
^SMTP
^SLBAND
^ABAND
^CA_INFO
^CA_ENABLE
^SIMDECPIN
^RFPIN_STATUS
^ULCA
^BAND_PRI
^ACQ_DB
^QTUNER_INIT
^MIPI_TUNER_INITAT
12:00
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2023 8:45 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How to enable AT commands of Foxconn T99W175 5G WWAN

Post by 12:00 »

econet wrote: Sat Oct 22, 2022 10:17 am 1. Boot ubuntu from USB device
- I used Ubuntu 22 LTS, generated by Rufus app.
- You have to temporarily disable Lenovo secure boot.

2. Send AT command using ModemManager

Code: Select all

AT^CUSTOMER=4
-> this command changes modem model type to DW5930e (probably DELL modem?) and it automatically opens COM port.
(Default AT^CUSTOMER value for Lenovo X1 carbon is 6)
I have a T99W175. It was not showing an adb port, and AT^CUSTOMER? returned 19 so I tried to pass AT^CUSTOMER=6

Now I've lost the AT port and I think I'm at the step you were stuck at. The PCI device changed from "Foxconn International, Inc. Device [105b:e0bf]" to "Qualcomm Technologies, Inc Device [17cb:0306]"

Due to a bios whitelist, I don't think I can reboot to Windows :(

Code: Select all

# mmcli -m 0
  -----------------------------
  General  |              path: /org/freedesktop/ModemManager1/Modem/0
           |         device id: (CUT OUT)
  -----------------------------
  Hardware |      manufacturer: Qualcomm
           |             model: Qualcomm Snapdragon X55 5G
           | firmware revision: T99W175.F0.6.0.0.6.TO.009
           |                    020  1  [Feb 14 2022 14:00:00]
           |      h/w revision: V065
           |           current: lte, 5gnr
            |      equipment id: (CUT OUT)
  -----------------------------
  System   |            device: /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1c.0/0000:08:00.0
           |           drivers: mhi_net, mhi-pci-generic
           |            plugin: generic
           |      primary port: wwan0qmi0
           |             ports: mhi_hwip0 (net), wwan0mbim0 (mbim), wwan0qcdm0 (ignored),
           |                    wwan0qmi0 (qmi)
(...)
  Modes    |         supported: allowed: any; preferred: none
           |           current: allowed: any; preferred: none
  -----------------------------
  IP       |         supported: ipv4, ipv6, ipv4v6
  -----------------------------
  SIM      |    sim slot paths: slot 1: none (active)
           |                    slot 2: none         
            
# mmcli -m 0 --command="ATI"
error: command failed: 'GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.ModemManager1.Error.Core.Connected: No AT port available to run command'
When there is no AT port, how did you manage to send the AT command?

Would you have any suggestion to change the modem composition? It's accessed though PCIe so I can't run the use_modeswitch scripts.
abdokb
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2024 1:43 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0

Re: How to enable AT commands of Foxconn T99W175 5G WWAN

Post by abdokb »

12:00 wrote: Tue Apr 18, 2023 9:01 am
econet wrote: Sat Oct 22, 2022 10:17 am 1. Boot ubuntu from USB device
- I used Ubuntu 22 LTS, generated by Rufus app.
- You have to temporarily disable Lenovo secure boot.

2. Send AT command using ModemManager

Code: Select all

AT^CUSTOMER=4
-> this command changes modem model type to DW5930e (probably DELL modem?) and it automatically opens COM port.
(Default AT^CUSTOMER value for Lenovo X1 carbon is 6)
I have a T99W175. It was not showing an adb port, and AT^CUSTOMER? returned 19 so I tried to pass AT^CUSTOMER=6

Now I've lost the AT port and I think I'm at the step you were stuck at. The PCI device changed from "Foxconn International, Inc. Device [105b:e0bf]" to "Qualcomm Technologies, Inc Device [17cb:0306]"

Due to a bios whitelist, I don't think I can reboot to Windows :(

Code: Select all

# mmcli -m 0
  -----------------------------
  General  |              path: /org/freedesktop/ModemManager1/Modem/0
           |         device id: (CUT OUT)
  -----------------------------
  Hardware |      manufacturer: Qualcomm
           |             model: Qualcomm Snapdragon X55 5G
           | firmware revision: T99W175.F0.6.0.0.6.TO.009
           |                    020  1  [Feb 14 2022 14:00:00]
           |      h/w revision: V065
           |           current: lte, 5gnr
            |      equipment id: (CUT OUT)
  -----------------------------
  System   |            device: /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1c.0/0000:08:00.0
           |           drivers: mhi_net, mhi-pci-generic
           |            plugin: generic
           |      primary port: wwan0qmi0
           |             ports: mhi_hwip0 (net), wwan0mbim0 (mbim), wwan0qcdm0 (ignored),
           |                    wwan0qmi0 (qmi)
(...)
  Modes    |         supported: allowed: any; preferred: none
           |           current: allowed: any; preferred: none
  -----------------------------
  IP       |         supported: ipv4, ipv6, ipv4v6
  -----------------------------
  SIM      |    sim slot paths: slot 1: none (active)
           |                    slot 2: none         
            
# mmcli -m 0 --command="ATI"
error: command failed: 'GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.ModemManager1.Error.Core.Connected: No AT port available to run command'
When there is no AT port, how did you manage to send the AT command?

Would you have any suggestion to change the modem composition? It's accessed though PCIe so I can't run the use_modeswitch scripts.
did you solve it ?
Post Reply

Return to “Misc Modem Cards and Dongles”