Beginner build questions - Rpi 4 + DW 5821e

cooltech6
Has thanked: 0

Beginner build questions - Rpi 4 + DW 5821e

Post by cooltech6 »

Hi, I am new to putting together LTE routers, and it would be helpful if I can get input on my current plans. I currently have an a10e with Visible tethered to a RPi 4 running OpenWRT, but the phone tethering is unstable (need airplane reset every few hours, need to reboot phone once in a while, etc). I plan to purchase a DW 5821e modem from eBay, since it seems to be a cheap cat 16 modem that is supported by Golden Orb. I am also planning to buy a Wireless Haven USB 3 enclosure with 2 sets of these cheap antennas from Amazon: https://amzn.to/36weDXS. Will the Dell modem be "plug and play" with the Golden Orb software, or should I buy a modem that has better compatibility?

And about Visible Wireless, I plan to do an IMEI change to a broken iPhone 12PM (I currently do this with a Franklin T9), and set the TTL to 67 like on my pi4 currently. Will the Visible SIM connect with this modem with just the VSBLINTERNET APN?

Any input and suggestions are appreciated!
DDK65JAG
Has thanked: 0

Re: Beginner build questions - Rpi 4 + DW 5821e

Post by DDK65JAG »

The antennas you linked to are RP-SMA, they don't have the center pin needed to make a connection to the
SMA connectors on most modem adapters. So, double check what you need for the enclosure.

DDK
mtl26637

Post by mtl26637 »