Same antenna, same spot, different router/modem combo different speeds

HOTSPOT Topics that are general or unclassified in nature, or does not belong elsewhere
Forum rules
Use the SEARCH function for related topics PRIOR to posting a new topic on the same subject.
caseyfoster
Been thanked: 0

Same antenna, same spot, different router/modem combo different speeds

Post by caseyfoster »

I am new to this, I have not gone the full swapping modems in a router phase yet, I have been trying off the shelf modem/router combos from amazon and tweaking antennas and locations.

I have 2 modem/router combos currently that I am testing with an antenna that is in a fixed position. I have a Alcatel Link Hub and a NETGEAR LAX20 that I am tinkering with right now, the Alcatel linkhub gets me about 15mb down, 2 up, where as the NETGEAR LAX20 gets me about 30down, 10 up.

My problem is my LOSMOBILE ATT SIM does not work in the LAX20 for some reason but does in the Alcatel.

My question is, does the power supply to the modem/router combo impact the power to the antenna? Or what would be the reason for the significant speed difference.
Didneywhorl

Re: Same antenna, same spot, different router/modem combo different speeds

Post by Didneywhorl »

Lookup the modem category of the device. If one is a higher category modem than the other and is the faster one, that is your answer.

Also make sure your signal levels match when comparing. Sometimes the devices will also connect to different towers even when you don't think it could. That is if there are more than one tower around you reaching you.
caseyfoster

Post by caseyfoster »

Interesting, I did read something about modem category here but didnt put that together.

Is there a list/resource/index of all of the modems by category? Or is there a way to tell what category my modem is?
gscheb

Post by gscheb »

Best bet is to search for what modem it has.
If they are cheaper devices more than likely category 4 or 6.