Page 1 of 1

Firmware needed for changing APN on WG3526

Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2021 12:55 pm
by NHeydary
I've setup a POE WG3526-P with the EM12-G Quectel modem in it. Hardware is setup and working with my TMob SIM.

Considering I'm just using the default factory firmware that came with the router, is there a firmware that enables the changing of APN?

Re: Firmware needed for changing APN on WG3526

Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2021 5:57 pm
by Didneywhorl
Use AT commands to change it.

You may want to disable the EM12 from automatically detecting it:

Code: Select all

AT+QMBNCFG="AutoSel",0
then

Code: Select all

AT+QMBNCFG="Deactivate"

To manually set the APN on the EM12:

Code: Select all

AT+CGDCONT=1,"IPV4V6","APN-NAME-HERE"
and

Code: Select all

AT+CGDCONT=3,"IPV4V6","SAME-APN-NAME-HERE"
Make sure you use straight dbl quotes like --> " ... instead of the goofy slanted windows ones.

Re: Firmware needed for changing APN on WG3526

Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2021 8:17 am
by RockyinNM
How do you do the (straight) quotes?? thanks

Re: Firmware needed for changing APN on WG3526

Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2021 10:26 am
by Rich Hathaway
copy and paste the commands into the client you are using to send modem AT commands to either the modem port or the AT port if your device has an AT port.
Put your apn in-between them, so if you are using say vzw it would look like this
AT+CGDCONT=1,"IPV4V6","VZWINTERNET"
that command would set VZWINTERNET as the apn for ipv4 and ipv6 for pdp profile number 1
if you want to set it to to use only ipv4 it would be
AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","VZWINTERNET"

but remember if you do that (IP) you still need to disable ipv6 or alot of devices will not render data until you do that.

Re: Firmware needed for changing APN on WG3526

Posted: Fri Nov 05, 2021 8:57 am
by Didneywhorl
Rich has you covered. Either copy paste from here, or open up a simple text editor like the simple Notepad app and type it there. Windows makes the slanted dbl quotes on Rich Text Formal word processing apps like MSWord and WordPad etc.