b66 and n71 TMHI Trash Can Hack

Topics related to wireless broadband antennas
Forum rules
Use the SEARCH function for related topics PRIOR to posting a new topic on the same subject.
McPierson
Been thanked: 0

b66 and n71 TMHI Trash Can Hack

Post by McPierson »

Hi,

I'm new to the Antenna life, terminology, and best practices. I'm needing some guidance on next steps.

So I've also Hacked the T-Mobile issued 5G home internet device and installed 4 log periodic antennas (600mhz-4000ish) on the roof in a 4x4 MIMO ie two pair of antennas that are separated by about 8 feet.

It seems like I'm not able to hold onto the "Primary" b66 signal and that is kicking me off of "Secondary" n71 and into "Primary" B71, which is the home of bad speeds.

I think this is an aiming issue, but I'm not sure how to test that without spending a lot of time trial and error on the roof during a heat wave. So I have some questions about aiming.

Should I try to aim all of them at the same time or should I do two at a time?
Since I'm shooting through the middle or top of large trees, should I be pointing them up? If I don't point up some I can't get B66 at all (I could with one panel and two log pointed directly at the tower instead of up).

The antennas just barely clear the ridge of my house (not a metal roof). Do the antennas need some additional height above the ridge to work correctly?

Do the trees nearest my house make a bigger difference relative to trees away from the house? I have a good chainsaw.

Oher relevant info:

I also have a 2x2 MIMO panel that is not in use.

My nearest tower is 2.5 miles away and I would have line of sight but for the last 1/8th mile of Oak/Savana (according to a Google Maps Traverse).

I have determine the heading of the tower based on Google Maps and Cell Mapper.

TESTING:
No antenna:
I was able to get 250/50Mbps down/up sitting in my car looking at the tower a mile away.
I got 130/14 in the car 2 miles away with line of sight.