Modem recommendation for Calyx sim

Misc Mini PCI-E and M.2 Modem Card and USB Dongle Topics
Forum rules
Use the SEARCH function for related topics PRIOR to posting a new topic on the same subject.
misha@shemyakin.net
Has thanked: 0

Modem recommendation for Calyx sim

Post by misha@shemyakin.net »

Hi all,
Newbie here - reasonable networking knowledge, but completely new to the LTE world.
Got a Calyx membership, and looking to get a modem that I can connect to a Google WiFi mesh. It'll be indoors, fixed location (house), that has both T-Mobile and Sprint coverage (not sure about the relative signal strengths on all the bands).

Performance would be nice, but primary requirement is reliability & uptime (esp ability to come back from downtime, e.g. after a power outage when I'm not present to troubleshoot).

Any recommendations?

Thank you!
Didneywhorl

Re: Modem recommendation for Calyx sim

Post by Didneywhorl »

Welcome to the forum!

Which hotspot did you get from Calyx?
misha@shemyakin.net

Post by misha@shemyakin.net »

Didneywhorl wrote: Mon Aug 23, 2021 7:02 am Welcome to the forum!

Which hotspot did you get from Calyx?
Thank you, seems like a great forum! I got the Linkzone 2
Didneywhorl

Post by Didneywhorl »

OK cool!

I've used the WG3526-P from thewirelesshaven.com with the Quectel EM12G, and the EM7565.

I also like the NEXR5GO, or NEXQ6GO, router with the same modems, but if you want other options the Sierra MC7411 is cool, or the Quectel EM06A on a budget.

The Quectel modems use a "generic" firmware. The Sierra Wireless modems need to have their Generic firmware simply enabled, its already in there usually.