dBm and download speed aren't matching up

ROUTER Topics that are general or unclassified in nature, or does not belong elsewhere
Forum rules
Please assure there is not an existing forum and topic related to your post
AaronMiller
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

dBm and download speed aren't matching up

Post by AaronMiller »

I am pretty new to cell phone antennas and boosters. I have a booster at my house because I live in a rural area and the only internet is satellite which can't really be considered internet service. So I am trying to boost my phones signal and use a hot spot for internet. Anyway, at work in town I have -97 dBm and a download rate on opensignal of around 40 mbps. At home with the booster on I have -79 dBm standing next to the booster and my download is about 400 kbps. I thought the lower dBm the better the signal, could this be the tower by my property which is right about 4 miles from my place? Do certain towers have data and others don't? I have been banging my head against a wall with no progress no matter how much money I dump into this pit. And why does the signal fluctuate so much, I will not move and get -120 then -97. There is nothing in the way from the tower to my place but trees, no hills, rocks, steel buildings, houses. Also the service is verizon on band 13, so it should be able to handle a few trees. I also have the bolton parabolic antenna connected to a 5 band booster, phontone.
derekjsmith

Re: dBm and download speed aren't matching up

Post by derekjsmith »

Which modem? What kind of antennas do you have on your router and are you using the "5 band booster" as the signal for your router?