OpenVPN tunnel won't return internet pages, but all internal DNS connections work

Topics related to VPN's
Forum rules
Use the SEARCH function for related issues PRIOR to posting for assistance.
DadsHockeyLife
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

OpenVPN tunnel won't return internet pages, but all internal DNS connections work

Post by DadsHockeyLife »

Ok, first, I'm VERY new to OpenWRT and the use of the The Wireless Haven routers. I'm not new to networking, Linux, Windows, Chrome OS, Android, and other platforms. I am well versed in Servers and currently use 3 Synology boxes (highly customized) and have started messing with a Pi 4 cluster using K8s.

However, until now, I've never needed an LTE capable router nor had a need to do this much customizing, so this side of things is very new to me.

So, basically, I will be using this router (WG3526) in my 5th wheel when we travel. The primary purpose was to VPN back to our home using OpenVPN (the OpenVPN is hosted on my router - another Synology product) so I have a secure connection to our home's resources, but also to use Hulu on the road (they won't allow one to use it away from your home area more than 4 times in a year).

So, I've setup OpenVPN on the router and it appears to run swimmingly. I set it up to be a full tunnel so ALL traffic goes through the VPN and Internet traffic is handled by my home router and our home DNS server. I have both the WG3526 router and my home router running separate subnets on their respective LANs. Everything on the internal LAN (home side) is completely functional and accessible from the LAN on the 3526, including browsing the servers by name instead of IP. This tells me internally, the DNS names are resolving.

However, I can't seem to get any internet addresses to resolve. Primarily I'm using google.com to test.