Gl-inet 750 on AT&T SIM not registered

MoarBarz
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Gl-inet 750 on AT&T SIM not registered

Post by MoarBarz »

I have an iPad plan and I use the SIM from it in my 750X. I haven’t used the device in about a year and I plugged it in today and it says sim not registered.

I moved the SIM to the iPad I activated it with, and the plan works. Moved it back to the 750 and it gives a SIM not registered error.

Total newbie here... I guess they’re requiring the IMEI to match now, so what do I do? Buy a new modem?
Dr-BroadBand

Re: Gl-inet 750 on AT&T SIM not registered

Post by Dr-BroadBand »

What carrier are you trying to use?

Has hard as you are trying to get onto the network the carriers and also working to keep you OFF, sad but true!
The carriers sell phones and tablets and let them on to the network. That is their business plan. :(

The IMEI number tells the carriers what type of equipment is tying to enter their network. So you do not need a new modem you need a SIM/Data Plan that works.

In the past it was easy to get and iPad SIM, and get it to work in a modem but it looks like this is getting harder to do.

Since 2004, the IMEI appears in the format AA-BBBBBB-CCCCCC-D. The sections labeled A and B are known as the Type Allocation Code (TAC). The TAC portion of the IMEI identifies the manufacturer and model of the device. For example, the Google Pixel TAC code is 35-161508, while the iPhone 6s Plus is 35-332907.

All the carriers needs is a BOT (Bots, or Internet robots) that looks at the IMEI number and givers it a Go/No Go onto the network. They can also but your modem on the naughty list :x

See link https://www.makeuseof.com/tag/phones-im ... f-explains
mtl26637

Post by mtl26637 »