First Build, Mofi replacement, Budget $500(ish)

ROUTER Topics that are general or unclassified in nature, or does not belong elsewhere
Forum rules
Please assure there is not an existing forum and topic related to your post
BDF1234

First Build, Mofi replacement, Budget $500(ish)

Post by BDF1234 »

Hi – New member here looking for some guidance. Sorry for the long post. If you are willing to read it, then you have my sincere thanks!

I just discovered this awesome site and wish I had known about it 12 months ago when we moved to the country. I am looking to assemble my first build, but would like some advice before purchasing. I’m still learning, so please correct any bad assumptions I have made.

Goals:
• Improve my DL and UL speeds as much as possible within a budget of roughly $500 (not including the antenna upgrades I will make).
• This must be a very STABLE and RELIABLE connection, as my wife works from home full time, and I work from home a couple of days a week.
• I am not a “tech” guy, but with a little guidance and research I can get things done. Having the support from The Wireless Haven is very valuable to me, which is why I want to buy as much as possible from them. I don’t want to be totally out there on my own.
• I need LTE Bands 2, 4, 12, 13, 14 & 66 to allow flexibility in switching carriers (between AT&T and Verizon for this area).

Current setup:
• Mofi 4500 Sim 7 (Cat 4 modem, no CA). I upgrade the firmware once a month, from their website.
• AT&T sim card through Infinite LTE for $90/mo. (service has been great so far).
• Typical DL speeds are between 5 and 20 Mbps, with the low end being at peak times.
• Band lock on B12 (no CA, 10 MHz up and down).
• I have been testing a directional Panel Antenna (in my attic for now). I bought it from wavefarm (2x2 MIMO, +10 db, LMR 400 cables).
o This improves B12 reception from -94 to -80 dBm (RSRP) and roughly doubles my DL speeds.