Looking for suggestions

This a discussion place for anything related to wireless
agrosso
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Looking for suggestions

Post by agrosso »

Hello everybody. I am new on the forum, hope not to be off-topic in this section.
Please consider me a complete newbie in networking and wireless.
I live in a rural area in Italy and I am experimenting with 4g-lte connection at home, obtained by slapping together this equipment:

1. LTE antenna
https://www.amazon.it/14dBi-Outdoor-Ant ... 3ASonstige

(with 10 meters cable)

2. Huawei USB dongle E3372

3. Raspberry Pi 3B acting as router, with raspbian Jessie.

Up to now I was able to get peak values of 30mbps in download, which is absolutely not impressive but fits my needs, and gives a decent speed in an area where you hardly get 6-7mbps from any cable connection.

Anyway I would not be unhappy of trying to improve the system a bit. Here are my thoughts.

- positioning the antenna was mainly a minimum-effort action. I looked for a point on the house's highest balcony where I could get the best signal with my mobile phone. Maybe I can dare to position it on the roof in spring/summer. However I think I need to perform some precise measure about the quality of the signal. What instruments would I need? How can I evaluate the losses on the cable (which is a bit longer than needed)?

- Is there any point in switching from the dongle to a regular modem? E3372 is a cat. 4 modem. The sim card that I am currently using is speed-capped at 30mbps, but I had a chance of using a Teltonika RUT950 with an uncapped sim and it did not deliver more. A cat. 6 modem can push the speed theoretically up to 300mbps (with an uncapped sim and perfect signal...), but I guess this is done by carrier aggregation? If so, we are probably covered by Band 20 only and there would be not much to aggregate. Am I wrong?