Advice for building my own solution

ROUTER Topics that are general or unclassified in nature, or does not belong elsewhere
Forum rules
Please assure there is not an existing forum and topic related to your post
Valicore
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Advice for building my own solution

Post by Valicore »

Hi all,

I am new to this world and trying to figure out how all this works. I have a Mobile Citizen reseller hotspot, and it doesn't seem to mind the IMEI of the device - I have used it in a ton of different phones that it's not provisioned for, as long as the APN is correct. I am going back and forth between just getting a Cradlepoint router, or building my own using one of the routers from The Wireless Haven. I am leaning towards building my own because I love stuff like that. One big question I have is the modem - it seems easy to buy one inexpensively on eBay, but many of the inexpensive ones seem to use the same chipset but are branded from manufacturers like Dell or HP - do they all work as well? Thanks for helping out a total noob, and apologies if this isn't the right place to put this!

Thanks,

TL
Didneywhorl

Re: Advice for building my own solution

Post by Didneywhorl »

Building them is the best!

To be honest, I've seen the ebay buys to be a crapshoot. The branded ones are a gamble. IF you want to save some cash and take the gamble, give it a go, but I'll bet they offer zero returns for non functioning modems and no support for the modem either.

I try to support the US based businesses, even if the product is made elsewhere.
Valicore
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Post by Valicore »

Didneywhorl wrote: Tue Nov 24, 2020 7:24 pm Building them is the best!

To be honest, I've seen the ebay buys to be a crapshoot. The branded ones are a gamble. IF you want to save some cash and take the gamble, give it a go, but I'll bet they offer zero returns for non functioning modems and no support for the modem either.