Router, modem and antenna questions

ROUTER Topics that are general or unclassified in nature, or does not belong elsewhere
Forum rules
Please assure there is not an existing forum and topic related to your post
Speckul8tor
Been thanked: 0

Router, modem and antenna questions

Post by Speckul8tor »

We currently have LTE internet through an ATT third party that has become unusable with little or no support so I am looking for alternatives. I'm new to this but have been reading and learning on these forums and Facebook groups and reasonably comfortable with techie stuff..

A little background: I live in a rural mountain area on top of a ridge with many trees between us and cell towers. Verizon and ATT are the providers with best signal here. Nearest Verizon tower is 1.5-2 miles from our house. We currently have Verizon phones. The best signal we get is -101 to -110 with download speeds of 1-3GB most of the time but up to 25 depending greatly on time of day. We don't have the option for LTE home internet directly from any of the providers based on our address.

I ordered the WG3526-p and Quectal EP06-A from The Wireless Haven last night. I tried to send a message for some help with choices but the message isn't submitting through the website so I decided to place the order anyhow. I also ordered a Visible SIM card so I can try it out since it's $20 for the first month and no activation fees. After reading more on forums today I am wondering if I should go with a different modem based on discussions of configuration difficulties for Visible.

Also, I'm looking for recommendations for external antenna(s). We have a tall 3 story house with a deck on the top floor about 40' off the ground on the side closest to the Verizon towers so I think I have some good location options.

Thanks in advance
Didneywhorl

Re: Router, modem and antenna questions

Post by Didneywhorl »

You should do just fine with the Visible SIM. Make sure you activate it in a phone first.