Nighthawk M1 vs WE826 on AT&T (or other carrier)

Sierra Wireless AirPrime Modem Card Topics
Forum rules
Use the SEARCH function for related topics PRIOR to posting a new topic on the same subject.
Bkenobi69
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Nighthawk M1 vs WE826 on AT&T (or other carrier)

Post by Bkenobi69 »

I've been using the M1 on AT&T via an ipad postpaid plan (with 2 other phones on unlimited). I keep it in my basement which means I had to install a pair of Wilson directional antennas in the attic to get usable coverage. It's a massive upgrade from the 1.5mbps DSL we were stuck with for the last decade and I am fairly happy with the setup. I do not like the TS-9 external antenna connectors on the M1 and am nervous that when I take it with I will eventually break the TS-9 to SMA pigtail.

I've been working from home for the last 5+ months and overall can't complain about this setup. However, I would like to be able to take the M1 in my truck camper so I can work remotely while my office is closed for local work. I took the M1 with on my first boondoggle and found that it works well enough (though the battery gets eaten quickly). I was thinking that I could install a WE826-T2 back home with a normal SIM permanently installed and then get a pre-paid or add-on SIM for the road.

I have a few questions before I place any orders.
1) Is AT&T ipad monthly iPad plan still working? I found I have to reset a lot to get it to work from the road. At home it's fine.

2) Is there a better carrier/plan that would work better for short term use? My MIL has a T-Mobile unlimited hotspot SIM I borrowed that is only $40/mo. Not sure if that price is guaranteed, but heck, I might just drop AT&T and go with that for both home and road SIM cards!