Setting TTL on the WG3526 with an EC25 Modem

ROUTER Topics that are general or unclassified in nature, or does not belong elsewhere
Forum rules
Please assure there is not an existing forum and topic related to your post
prideauxx

Setting TTL on the WG3526 with an EC25 Modem

Post by prideauxx »

Hello!

I've been stalking the board for some time. I have a rural setup that currently consists of a Mofi4500 using Ubifi.net MVNO's data plan. My background is computer science and electrical engineering, and I've worn a few hats over the years with a few different places.

When I first joined early this year, BillA was extraordinarily helpful in giving advice for a quality failover setup (intend on using 2 cellular ISP's--At&t and TMobile) that improved greatly on what I was working with (wife runs a business, children will need it for school, I need it for work/VTC). I was about to pull the trigger when the unexpected happened and I lost my job (needed to circle wagons and this fell off the list). Fast forward to now, all things resolved jobwise, and it would seem due to many factors I won't go into (obvious ones), I could not get my hands on a WG3526 in a timely fashion--my first choice of business is/will be thewirelesshaven.com, but I missed the boat.

After doing a good amount of searching and research, I was able to locate a used WG3526 with a Quectel EC25 modem. I was very lucky to notice when it arrived today that is has the WiFix firmware on it, and appeared to be a unit sold from thewirelesshaven.com!

I first had to figure out how to get admin access back on the device tonight (last resort was reflashing, using the Chinese-language failsafe mode, to 'openwrt-WiFiX-WG3526-GO2020-05-16-upgrade.bin'). All good, I had access. I next used a spare At&t SIM I have from my At&t cellular data plan (from an old, loaner IPhone SE) and got Internet access on the device. This testing complete, I know the device is functional!