My 4G setup/project

This a discussion place for anything related to wireless
swwifty

My 4G setup/project

Post by swwifty »

I wanted to do a complete post on my setup with context, and technical details on what I did. I'll start by giving some context on the why.

Last year I moved to the Northeast GA mountains. I work as a Systems Engineer, and work full time remote. Thus, as part of this move, fast and reliable internet was a must. I was fortunate that the home and location we picked has good reliable internet (Dual bonded DSL that gets me 21 mbps down / 1.25 mbps up ). Most of the county I live in does not. When we moved, I switched from T-Mobile phone service, to Verizon, because T-mobile at the time did not cover this area. I knew I could use tethering as a backup (it was in fact faster than my DSL at about 30mbps down / 15 mbps up, on my phone) for my primary wired internet connection, but never thought of using it as a full time secondary connection.