Trying to decide on antennas

Questions and Support related to Antennas & Cables
Forum rules
Use the SEARCH function for related issues PRIOR to posting for assistance.
whpijack
Has thanked: 0

Trying to decide on antennas

Post by whpijack »

Hi All. I’ve been reading this site almost non-stop the last few days trying to figure out how to improve my only source of internet at the house. Great info, I’ve learned a lot and appreciate the time everyone takes share their experiences.

I’m a user of AT&T’s former WHPI product. Yesterday I upgraded my old ZTE Z700A router to the IFWA-40 which allowed me to keep my grandfathered in Unlimited Plus plan. I wish I could go with some of the setups you guys are running but at least right now I don’t see a good option for plans and AT&T coverage seems the best in my area… if you loosely define “best”.

Bit of background, I’ve been running the Z700A since 2017. I modded it back in the day with an external SMA port and have been running either a 698-2700MHz Wide Band Directional Log Periodic Antenna or weBoost Outdoor Directional Yagi Antenna 301111 for 700/800/900 MHz Band with varying degrees of success. Antennas were connected to the Z700A with 25ft of LMR400. I won’t lie, the antennas have been moved A LOT as signal would get bad, snow was flying and I just needed internet. Quick job to get it running and figured I’d fix it later. Well later has finally come.

Last night I upgraded to the IFWA-40 router at AT&T store. I brought it home, fired it up and managed to get 2-3 “bars” on LTE using it’s internal antennas. I want to say that equates to -103 to -108 signal. Speed tests were abysmal, 2-3mbps down, 1 up if I was lucky. But it connected with internal antennas to LTE, something the old router wouldn’t do.