MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Sierra Wireless AirPrime Modem Card Topics
Forum rules
Use the SEARCH function for related topics PRIOR to posting a new topic on the same subject.
Post Reply
srunyon1
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 4:38 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Post by srunyon1 »

just a follow up on my situation.
I purchased the EM20 and it really works great, however after a month or so , it started switching to the lower speed cell id again.

I've look through the rest of the posts and was able to run the

Code: Select all

AT+QENG="servingcell"
+QENG: "servingcell","NOCONN","LTE","FDD",310,410,A174011,321,5110,12,3,3,8B1E,-88,-14,-57,9,-
Not quite sure now how to add that info to the QNWLOCK command.

Code: Select all

AT+QNWLOCK=?
+QNWLOCK: "common/4g",<num of cells>,[[<freq>,<pci>],...]
+QNWLOCK: "common/lte"[,<action>[,<EARFCN>,<PCI>[,<status>]]]

OK
Can someone help me with the syntax?

Also how do I get a modem status that tells me something about the signal strength of each separate antenna?

Code: Select all

AT!GSTATUS?

Code: Select all

AT!GSTATUS?
ERROR

when i run the status command listed in this thread i just get an error back.
it seems the EM20 uses some different commands and I have yet to find a complete list for this version

Thanks for all the help!!!!

Ziggy.
User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 3610
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 1360 times
Been thanked: 754 times
Contact:

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Post by Didneywhorl »

The Quectel modems do not have the well done AT!GSTATUS? command that Sierra Wireless modems use. Your closest bet is AT+QENG="SERVINGCELL"?

THE command AT+QNWLOCK is relatively unexplored. Its on my list.
srunyon1
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 4:38 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Post by srunyon1 »

So I think i got it,
first run
AT+QENG="neighbourcell"

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,412,-16,-93,-56,0,-,-,-,-,-

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,254,-17,-95,-68,0,-,-,-,-,-

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,258,-20,-99,-68,0,-,-,-,-,-

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,212,-20,-99,-69,0,-,-,-,-,-


Then Run

AT+QENG="servingcell"

When it is connected to the good Cell

servingcell","NOCONN","LTE","FDD",310,410,A17400A,**412,800**,2,5,5,8B1E,-93,-15,-57,10,0,80,-

These are the numbers you are looking for.
you will see in the Neighbourcells the order has to be swaped so I want **800,412**
This takes a bit to figure out, I have two modems and one sits on the good cell and I was able to see the info to understand what I wanted.

AT+QENG="neighbourcell"

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,412,-16,-93,-56,0,-,-,-,-,-

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,254,-17,-95,-68,0,-,-,-,-,-

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,258,-20,-99,-68,0,-,-,-,-,-

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,212,-20,-99,-69,0,-,-,-,-,-

So to lock to the Cell that I want it is 800,412

then I ran

AT+QNWLOCK: "common/4g",1,800,412

AT+QNWLOCK="common/4g",1,800,412

Then if you run you see its locked

AT+QNWLOCK="common/4g"

+QNWLOCK: "common/4g",1, **800,412**

OK

I think to un lock it then you run
AT+QNWLOCK="common/4g",0

and it puts it back to


AT+QNWLOCK="common/4g"

+QNWLOCK: "common/4g",0

OK
User avatar
BillA
Posts: 1148
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 6:46 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 206 times
Been thanked: 317 times
Contact:

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Post by BillA »

srunyon1 wrote: Sun Mar 14, 2021 11:40 am So I think i got it,
I ran

AT+QNWLOCK: "common/4g",1,800,412

AT+QNWLOCK="common/4g",1,800,412

Then if you run you see its locked

AT+QNWLOCK="common/4g"

+QNWLOCK: "common/4g",1, **800,412**

After you restart the modem, does it stick to the specified cellID order when you send a "neighbourcell"?
The reason I'm asking, is because towers can actually override it to ensure network integrity.
websiteperson
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2021 1:51 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Post by websiteperson »

Is this still working for you? I'll have my LTE router tomorrow & I'll need to do the same thing 😉
websiteperson
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2021 1:51 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Post by websiteperson »

BillA wrote: Mon Mar 15, 2021 9:13 am


After you restart the modem, does it stick to the specified cellID order when you send a "neighbourcell"?
The reason I'm asking, is because towers can actually override it to ensure network integrity.
Just thought I'd followup & say I got my setup going, and was able to lock to one tower (set primary cell) thanks to this thread.

Per your question, I assume you mean for specifying more than 1 tower/cell. I have not tried that, as I'm using directional antennas. In the event it doesn't, could you just run the AT command using a cron job, or do they have to be done on the Miscellaneous page? I'm kind of a noob with this stuff 🙂

Note for lurkers: in srunyon's last post, he has the command/result flipped. To apply the setting, be sure you use the = sign, so in his example:
QNWLOCK="common/4g",1,800,412

I thought it didn't work after trying with the colon, my first read through. If you're experienced with AT commands, though, you'd probably catch that & not make my mistake. 🙂
Prvt.N00b
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2020 5:55 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Post by Prvt.N00b »

I´m getting an error with this command AT+QENG="neighbourcell" and I´m using a Sierra Wireless EM7665, please confirm if this command is valid for my modem.


Thanks
User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 3610
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 1360 times
Been thanked: 754 times
Contact:

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Post by Didneywhorl »

That command is not valid for Sierra modems, only Quectel modems.

I'm not sure what command Sierra has that is similar.
joaobrasil65
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2022 6:20 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Post by joaobrasil65 »

I am trying to accomplish the same goal of connecting only to one specific cell on T-Mobile or possibly just a whitelist of towers. It looks like I have to use a Quectel modem to do this? I need help writing a script to accomplish this. Is anyone willing to help me or maybe do a small paid contract?

I am an accomplished tech for enterprise software but this is new to me. I also cannot seem to find the complete list of AT commands for the Qeuctel modems.

Please respond if interested or you can offer some further advice.
User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 3610
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 1360 times
Been thanked: 754 times
Contact:

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Post by Didneywhorl »

Quectel only so far as I know. AT commands can be had from your retailer. Unfortunately not all commands are publicly documented. There are tons of undocumented commands, but AT+QNWLOCK I believe is documented.
joaobrasil65
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2022 6:20 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Post by joaobrasil65 »

Guys, this is a great thread. I am new to wireless modem AT commands. My goal is to get mine to lock on to a specific cell tower and stay on it. It looks like I need to have a Quectel modem to do it. Yes?

I was hoping to be able to do it with my android phone. Has anyone done that?

If not, does anyone have an example script to accomplish this?
Post Reply

Return to “Sierra Wireless Modems”