RM500Q-AE with 2x2 MIMO

Topics related to wireless broadband antennas
Forum rules
Use the SEARCH function for related topics PRIOR to posting a new topic on the same subject.
Post Reply
gdhorn
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2022 9:38 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

RM500Q-AE with 2x2 MIMO

Post by gdhorn »

Hi all,

Can we operate a Quectel RM500Q-AE with “only” 2x2 MIMO in 5G mode. E.g. with one XPOL-2-5G Poynting antenna?

It runs on a Mikrotik RBM33G. At the moment with a Quectel EP06. This results at about 100 Mbps DL

Thanks for your feedback.

Simon
User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 3244
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 1233 times
Been thanked: 645 times
Contact:

Re: RM500Q-AE with 2x2 MIMO

Post by Didneywhorl »

I think there is a command to disable 4x4 MIMO....


try:

Code: Select all

AT+QCFG="lte4x4mimo/disable",1
1 for 4x4 off
0 for 4x4 on
gdhorn
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2022 9:38 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: RM500Q-AE with 2x2 MIMO

Post by gdhorn »

Thanks for your answer.

Is 5G in principle (independent from quectel) possible with only two antennas (= 2x2 MIMO)?

I don't have the RM500Q (yet).
User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 3244
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 1233 times
Been thanked: 645 times
Contact:

Re: RM500Q-AE with 2x2 MIMO

Post by Didneywhorl »

Yes, the 5GNR bands support and MIMO capabilities per band used I think is listed in the hardware design or product info documents. But generally I believe 4x4 MIMO isn't always required to use all 5GNR bands, though I could be wrong.
Josephur
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2020 1:57 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: RM500Q-AE with 2x2 MIMO

Post by Josephur »

I just tried

Code: Select all

AT+QCFG="lte4x4mimo/disable",0
on my RM500Q-AE and it returned:

Code: Select all

AT+QCFG="lte4x4mimo/disable",0
ERROR
What gives? I have two 2x2 MIMO antennas connected. One on antenna ports 0,3 and one on ports 1,2 as the documentation shows is correct (I think).
carp4
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 15, 2022 9:38 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: RM500Q-AE with 2x2 MIMO

Post by carp4 »

Did you ever figure this out? I’d like to run my RM500Q-GL with only 2 antennas also. What command finally worked and which ports on the card did you use for the two antennas?
User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 3244
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 1233 times
Been thanked: 645 times
Contact:

Re: RM500Q-AE with 2x2 MIMO

Post by Didneywhorl »

Try the query: AT+QCFG=?

It might, after the latest updates, have moved to: AT+QNWPREFCFG=? or AT+QNWCFG=?
Post Reply

Return to “Cellular Antennas”