Speedtest has 30 mb/s, Youtube runs fine at 4K, pages and downloads at 500K?

Topics on Service Providers, Deals, Options, Etc.
Forum rules
No internet reseller is permitted to market their services. No Exceptions.
Post Reply
ylrkdr
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun May 10, 2020 10:53 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Speedtest has 30 mb/s, Youtube runs fine at 4K, pages and downloads at 500K?

Post by ylrkdr »

For the past month, web browsing has been frustrating, at best. Even though Speedtest runs at about 30mb/s, and I can watch YouTube at 4K, regular page browsing and downloads have been stuck at 500K on Chrome, and 1.5mb/s on Firefox and Steam. I'm running AT&T through a reseller; has AT&T deprioritized my data?

I have to add this is happening with both my M1 Nighthawk and my MOFI 4500; I can reboot the devices, and it works for a little while(usually less than an hour), but it goes back to being slow.
ylrkdr
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun May 10, 2020 10:53 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Speedtest has 30 mb/s, Youtube runs fine at 4K, pages and downloads at 500K?

Post by ylrkdr »

I also have to add that I use the Speedtest app on my PC desktop to get the fast speeds. Speedtest on Chrome is also OK, Google's speedtest on Chrome is at 500K. Testmy.net is even slower, at 360K.
ylrkdr
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun May 10, 2020 10:53 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Speedtest has 30 mb/s, Youtube runs fine at 4K, pages and downloads at 500K?

Post by ylrkdr »

Google speedtest and testmy.net speeds were the same on a fresh install of Firefox.
gscheb
Posts: 1528
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:37 am
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 321 times

Re: Speedtest has 30 mb/s, Youtube runs fine at 4K, pages and downloads at 500K?

Post by gscheb »

If the issue is web browsing exclusive issue. Could be a dns issue. Try changing you dns on these devices. Also have you tried to see what happens when using a vpn?
Dr-BroadBand
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 8:52 am
Location: Texas
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 117 times

Re: Speedtest has 30 mb/s, Youtube runs fine at 4K, pages and downloads at 500K?

Post by Dr-BroadBand »

A DNS flush may help

https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/serv ... flush-dns/

Also try
System File Checker to resolve the corrupted files in the system.
Here’s the steps.
-Press Windows Key+ R to open the run box
-Type cmd , right click and run it as administrator.
-A screen will pop up and type sfc/scannow and hit enter
-Wait until it finishes scanning
ylrkdr
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun May 10, 2020 10:53 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Speedtest has 30 mb/s, Youtube runs fine at 4K, pages and downloads at 500K?

Post by ylrkdr »

SFC and DNS flush didn't help. Changing the DNS didn't help. However, Chrome and FF is blocking me from accessing any VPN site. There must be a setting somewhere in Windows that's hamstringing the internet, and keeping speeds slow.
ylrkdr
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun May 10, 2020 10:53 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Speedtest has 30 mb/s, Youtube runs fine at 4K, pages and downloads at 500K?

Post by ylrkdr »

Tried Google speedtest on a laptop and a tablet, same results. Rebooting the MOFI sped things up to normal. Will try the database here for clues.
Dr-BroadBand
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 8:52 am
Location: Texas
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 117 times

Re: Speedtest has 30 mb/s, Youtube runs fine at 4K, pages and downloads at 500K?

Post by Dr-BroadBand »

Make sure you use band lock. Your modem could be switching bands on you
Dr-BroadBand
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 8:52 am
Location: Texas
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 117 times

Re: Speedtest has 30 mb/s, Youtube runs fine at 4K, pages and downloads at 500K?

Post by Dr-BroadBand »

Could also try turning off your Wi-Fi and using the ethernet cable
User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 3149
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 1190 times
Been thanked: 630 times
Contact:

Re: Speedtest has 30 mb/s, Youtube runs fine at 4K, pages and downloads at 500K?

Post by Didneywhorl »

Might be ATT playing with their Proxies again.
ylrkdr
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun May 10, 2020 10:53 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Speedtest has 30 mb/s, Youtube runs fine at 4K, pages and downloads at 500K?

Post by ylrkdr »

Managed to hook up a laptop via ethernet to the MOFI during a slowdown mode, still got the slow speeds. Kinda leaning toward AT&T shenanigans. Currently bandlocked on 2 and 5, as I have been for the past year since the new tower was put up.
gscheb
Posts: 1528
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:37 am
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 321 times

Re: Speedtest has 30 mb/s, Youtube runs fine at 4K, pages and downloads at 500K?

Post by gscheb »

Have a post pay tablet plan att and still working fine. Another household down the road still running fine too. Waiting to see what happens in February.
854RM1250
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2022 10:26 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Speedtest has 30 mb/s, Youtube runs fine at 4K, pages and downloads at 500K?

Post by 854RM1250 »

YES, I have been having the same issues. I did speed test on a bunch of different sites, google 0.6, testmy.net 600kb, fast.com 1.5, speedtest.net 60+, websites take 20 seconds to load and downloads a lifetime. Its definitely getting throttled by At&t, can stream youtube or netflix videos at low res, funny thing speedtest.net isnt thought (Guess At&t still wants to advertise they have a fast speed with the #1 speedtest site :( ).
Now it looks like as soon as I switch towers by taking it out of the home, or reboot device, it gets a new IP address and its good to go at full speed 60+ for a few hours until it happens again. has been happening for about 45 days now. I'm sure a VPN will bypass the throttling, but will add latency and Hulu and Prime do not like most VPNs.
Other than rebooting 3 times a day or VPN. Would anyone else in community have a fix or any ideas?
Post Reply

Return to “Internet Service Providers”