Quectel EM160 AT commands

How to tutorials for modems, hotspots, dongles
Forum rules
This forum is for tutorials only--NOT for help or assistance.
Post Reply
User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 3149
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 1190 times
Been thanked: 630 times
Contact:

Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by Didneywhorl »

As some of you may know, or have recently found out, the newest Quectel modems (EM160, EM120, RM500, RM510, RM502) do NOT use all of the same AT commands as the predecessor modems.

Here are a list of a few new commands and what they should do, and a list of commands that I've found not working anymore.


New:

Code: Select all

AT+QRSRP?
: Check the signal info on each antenna port. This one was supposed to work on the EM20, and EM12 I think, but never made it.

Code: Select all

AT+QNWPREFCFG: "roam_pref",255
This one replaces AT+QCFG="roamservice",1 . I have not been able to get roamservice to work on the EM160.
255 is for Auto ( basically the same as full roaming imo )
1 is for Roam on Home Networks only (I'm guessing this is 'dont roam lite' )
3 is for Roam on Affiliate Networks (full on roaming)

Code: Select all

AT+QNWPREFCFG="mode_pref",LTE
This replaces AT+QCFG="NWSCANMODE",3,1 which is also a command that the EM160 wont accept.
LTE, CDMA, AUTO are the options I believe. I'll have to dbl check those.


BAND LOCKING!!!

So this one is all new and MUCH simpler:

The see the current band setting:

Code: Select all

AT+QNWPREFCFG="lte_band"?
example to set to bands 2,4,12,66,71 only:

Code: Select all

AT+QNWPREFCFG="lte_band",2:4:12:66:71
that's it.

After setting it, remember to hard reset the modem with

Code: Select all

AT+CFUN=1,1
this will make the modem disappear and come back rebooted. Entering

Code: Select all

AT+CFUN=0; +CFUN=1
does nothing really. You have to run the '=1,1' version or power cycle your router to get the modem to actually reboot.


Voice Centric Use or Data centric use: (this one Im still toying with to really get the purpose of

Code: Select all

AT+QNWPREFCFG="ue_usage_setting",<settingNumber>
In place of <settingNumber>:
0 for Voice centric
1 for Data centric


There are a few others, but these are the popular ones that come to mind.

And as an extra bonus:
Post replies for any commands you've found for the new Quectel modems, and what they do.
toddw
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2020 5:43 pm
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by toddw »

Many thanks for this. Will come in handy this weekend.
User avatar
BillA
Posts: 1100
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 6:46 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 183 times
Been thanked: 304 times
Contact:

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by BillA »

The following commands have been tested and work on the EM16 (EM160R), and possibly on other newer models.

Disable auto-MBN mode, and set it to generic profile:

Code: Select all

AT+QMBNCFG="AutoSel",0  < 0=deactivate / 1=activate
AT+QMBNCFG="Deactivate"  < Activate / Deactivate
AT+QMBNCFG="Select","ROW_Commercial"
MBN profile list:
+QMBNCFG: "List",0,1,1,"ROW_Commercial",0x08010809,201907031
+QMBNCFG: "List",1,0,0,"Commercial-TMO",0x0801050F,202005251
+QMBNCFG: "List",2,0,0,"Telstra_Australia_Commercial",0x08010F00,202005111
+QMBNCFG: "List",3,0,0,"ROW_Generic_3GPP_PTCRB_GCF",0x0801FE02,201910231
+QMBNCFG: "List",4,0,0,"Germany-VoLTE-Vodafone",0x08010449,202004261
+QMBNCFG: "List",5,0,0,"Swiss-Comm",0x08010411,202004261
+QMBNCFG: "List",6,0,0,"Commercial-EE",0x0801220B,202004261
+QMBNCFG: "List",7,0,0,"hVoLTE-Verizon",0x0801010E,202006091
+QMBNCFG: "List",8,0,0,"Commercial-Sprint",0x08010204,201907031
+QMBNCFG: "List",9,0,0,"FirstNet",0x08015300,202004301
+QMBNCFG: "List",10,0,0,"VoLTE-ATT",0x08010335,202001101
+QMBNCFG: "List",11,0,0,"VoLTE-CU",0x08011561,202003131
+QMBNCFG: "List",12,0,0,"VoLTE_OPNMKT_CT",0x080113E0,202004261
+QMBNCFG: "List",13,0,0,"Volte_OpenMkt-Commercial-CMCC",0x08012010,201907031
+QMBNCFG: "List",14,0,0,"Commercial-KDDI",0x08010709,202006181
+QMBNCFG: "List",15,0,0,"Commercial-DCM",0x08010D0D,202004261
+QMBNCFG: "List",16,0,0,"Commercial-SBM",0x08011C0B,201907031


Other commands:

Code: Select all

AT+QCFG="usbnet",0  < 0=QMI/PPP/Default / 1=ECM / 2=MBIM
AT+QPRTPARA=3  < Factory reset NVM items (careful, you may lose modem control!)
AT+QPRTPARA=1  < Save NVM items

It's funny how a year ago Sierra was the most popular modem on here, till I started posting about Quectel and even Simcom brands. It must be the "magic"! ;D
User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 3149
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 1190 times
Been thanked: 630 times
Contact:

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by Didneywhorl »

BillA wrote: Sat Dec 26, 2020 8:00 pm The following commands have been tested and work on the EM16 (EM160R), and possibly on other newer models.

Disable auto-MBN mode, and set it to generic profile:

Code: Select all

AT+QMBNCFG="AutoSel",0  < 0=deactivate / 1=activate
AT+QMBNCFG="Deactivate"  < Activate / Deactivate
AT+QMBNCFG="Select","ROW_Commercial"
MBN profile list:
+QMBNCFG: "List",0,1,1,"ROW_Commercial",0x08010809,201907031
+QMBNCFG: "List",1,0,0,"Commercial-TMO",0x0801050F,202005251
+QMBNCFG: "List",2,0,0,"Telstra_Australia_Commercial",0x08010F00,202005111
+QMBNCFG: "List",3,0,0,"ROW_Generic_3GPP_PTCRB_GCF",0x0801FE02,201910231
+QMBNCFG: "List",4,0,0,"Germany-VoLTE-Vodafone",0x08010449,202004261
+QMBNCFG: "List",5,0,0,"Swiss-Comm",0x08010411,202004261
+QMBNCFG: "List",6,0,0,"Commercial-EE",0x0801220B,202004261
+QMBNCFG: "List",7,0,0,"hVoLTE-Verizon",0x0801010E,202006091
+QMBNCFG: "List",8,0,0,"Commercial-Sprint",0x08010204,201907031
+QMBNCFG: "List",9,0,0,"FirstNet",0x08015300,202004301
+QMBNCFG: "List",10,0,0,"VoLTE-ATT",0x08010335,202001101
+QMBNCFG: "List",11,0,0,"VoLTE-CU",0x08011561,202003131
+QMBNCFG: "List",12,0,0,"VoLTE_OPNMKT_CT",0x080113E0,202004261
+QMBNCFG: "List",13,0,0,"Volte_OpenMkt-Commercial-CMCC",0x08012010,201907031
+QMBNCFG: "List",14,0,0,"Commercial-KDDI",0x08010709,202006181
+QMBNCFG: "List",15,0,0,"Commercial-DCM",0x08010D0D,202004261
+QMBNCFG: "List",16,0,0,"Commercial-SBM",0x08011C0B,201907031


Other commands:

Code: Select all

AT+QCFG="usbnet",0  < 0=QMI/PPP/Default / 1=ECM / 2=MBIM
AT+QPRTPARA=3  < Factory reset NVM items (careful, you may lose modem control!)
AT+QPRTPARA=1  < Save NVM items

It's funny how a year ago the most popular modems were Sierra's, and now Quectel and even Simcom have taken over. Hmmm... I wonder why?! No need to answer it. ;D
Good stuff Bill!

I don't think the: AT+QMBNCFG="Activate" thing you listed as an option is a working command though. I think The: AT+QMBNCFG="Select"..... does that. The Deactivate command simply 'deactivates' the selected MBN profile. I could be wrong, but AT+QMBNCFG="Deactivate" is a listed command, with no options, when AT+QMBNCFG=? is queried.
leopardus2
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2020 2:32 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by leopardus2 »

I wonder if the EM160 performs any better than the EM20.
I just received my EM160 yesterday so I'll replace the EM20 I have been using since couple months and run some tests.
leopardus2
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2020 2:32 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by leopardus2 »

First tests show that the EM160 is unable to perform more than 2CA.
Very likely there is a problem with the firmware. The EM20 goes back in service!
leopardus2
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2020 2:32 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by leopardus2 »

I found a way to make it behave properly . Need to lock the explicit bands with AT+QNWPREFCFG="lte_band",1:3:7 then it will do 3CA or 4CA. If you leave it "free" it will stick to 2CA... buggy firmware, as usual from Quectel
leopardus2
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2020 2:32 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by leopardus2 »

I am happy to tell you that, although not documented, the EM160 supports EM20 way of locking PCC to a cell id (and therefore a tower) using at+qnwlock=\"common/4g\",1,EARFCN,CELLID
User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 3149
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 1190 times
Been thanked: 630 times
Contact:

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by Didneywhorl »

Good find!
toddw
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2020 5:43 pm
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by toddw »

The EM160 I just got from The Wireless Haven is doing 3xCA out of the box with no changes out in the country, which isn't bad at all. I plan to take it into the city and see what it does like I did with the Telit 960.

EDIT: Just now, as load comes off the towers they tend to open up...
3xca.png
3xca.png (6.17 KiB) Viewed 20392 times
leopardus2
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2020 2:32 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by leopardus2 »

I believe what it does with CA depends on the supported combinations for the bands you have available.
Here we have B1 B3 B7 and B20 and no it will not do anything other than 2CA unless you restrict the band set. But I think that's just a not so mature firmware.

Anyway the EM20 performs better in both DL and UL (everything else being the same), at least here. Ran many tests in different times of the day.
davidb
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 11:06 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by davidb »

I am running a EM160. I have been learning and experimenting, and greatly appreciate this site.

Is there a way to bump a band down in priority, but still keep it?

For example if 14 is giving me the strongest signal but 66 gives me higher speeds then to make it push to 66 but still keep 14. When 66 is priority and it aggregates with 14 I am getting 50Mbs down. 12 seemed like it was slowing me down so I excluded it altogether.

I used the command AT+QNWPREFCFG="lte_band",2:4:14:30:66 to set the bands I wanted to aggregate.
User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 3149
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 1190 times
Been thanked: 630 times
Contact:

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by Didneywhorl »

There is a command in there that allows you to define your top 3 bands you prefer. I've not seen how well it works though. I'd have to dig. Its under the QENG command set I think, but it may be under NWPREFCFG commands.
User avatar
BillA
Posts: 1100
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 6:46 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 183 times
Been thanked: 304 times
Contact:

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by BillA »

Didneywhorl wrote: Tue Jan 19, 2021 1:23 pm There is a command in there that allows you to define your top 3 bands you prefer. I've not seen how well it works though. I'd have to dig. Its under the QENG command set I think, but it may be under NWPREFCFG commands.

These newer modems are nice since they let you lock the bands using decimal numbers ("lte_band",X:Y:Z) instead of those crazy binary bit masks on previous models. While band-locking may help narrow down the operating bands, it can also prevent the modem from scanning and using newly enabled or changed band assignments by the carrier, which can happen at any time. Therefore I highly recommend running the modem in auto-scan mode, or at least setting it to auto-scan once in a while to prevent missing out on some new goodies. ;)
prillersp
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2021 3:44 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by prillersp »

Ok so I understand now how to set the bands now thanks to this!! I'm wanting to set my own but how would I go back to default (using all available bands) without resetting everthing? sorry i'm new to this lol and can you choose which is the main band to use out of the 3 bands I'd like to use? I'm trying to exclude just band 66 really but then again as long as band 66 isn't the primary band its connected to then it's wonderful actually, just doesn't like being the "main" band.
User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 3149
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 1190 times
Been thanked: 630 times
Contact:

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by Didneywhorl »

prillersp wrote: Wed Mar 24, 2021 3:53 am Ok so I understand now how to set the bands now thanks to this!! I'm wanting to set my own but how would I go back to default (using all available bands) without resetting everthing? sorry i'm new to this lol and can you choose which is the main band to use out of the 3 bands I'd like to use? I'm trying to exclude just band 66 really but then again as long as band 66 isn't the primary band its connected to then it's wonderful actually, just doesn't like being the "main" band.

Code: Select all

AT+QNWPREFCFG="lte_band",1:2:3:4:5:7:8:12:13:14:18:19:20:25:26:28:29:30:32:38:39:40:41:42:43:46:48:66

I like to exclude all non-US bands.
BV2020
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2020 12:52 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by BV2020 »

Ok... Nice read on the EM160, but I have one question:

1- I want to use 2 2x2 mimo antennas with this. What are the at commands to activate the secondary pair?
BDF1234
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2021 8:10 pm
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 35 times

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by BDF1234 »

Check out this thread:
https://wirelessjoint.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=2294

I have tried to do the same thing but cannot get it to work. If I run:
AT+QCFG=?
then it shows
"lte4x4mimo/disable", (0,1)
as a valid command, but if I try to execute the command, it returns an error.

If anyone figures out how to make it work, please let me know.
User avatar
.IceG.
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 3:11 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by .IceG. »

Removed due to duplication.
User avatar
.IceG.
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 3:11 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by .IceG. »

BDF1234 wrote: Tue Mar 30, 2021 8:01 am If anyone figures out how to make it work, please let me know.
Try these commands
Image
Image
User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 3149
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 1190 times
Been thanked: 630 times
Contact:

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by Didneywhorl »

.IceG. wrote: Mon Apr 05, 2021 3:04 pm Try these commands
Image
Image
What firmware version are you using on yours?
User avatar
.IceG.
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 3:11 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by .IceG. »

Didneywhorl wrote: Mon Apr 05, 2021 4:56 pm What firmware version are you using on yours?
From what I read it is

Code: Select all

EM160RGLAUR02A05M4G
timmytimtim
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 02, 2020 6:14 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by timmytimtim »

davidb wrote: Tue Jan 19, 2021 8:19 am I am running a EM160. I have been learning and experimenting, and greatly appreciate this site.

Is there a way to bump a band down in priority, but still keep it?

For example if 14 is giving me the strongest signal but 66 gives me higher speeds then to make it push to 66 but still keep 14. When 66 is priority and it aggregates with 14 I am getting 50Mbs down. 12 seemed like it was slowing me down so I excluded it altogether.

I used the command AT+QNWPREFCFG="lte_band",2:4:14:30:66 to set the bands I wanted to aggregate.
I would also like to know how to set a main or primary band.

and I can not seem to get the "tower locking" command to do anything? It returns "OK" but makes no changes using:

at+qnwlock=\"common/4g\",1,EARFCN,CELLID
x-code
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 18, 2021 9:16 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by x-code »

How to change IMEI?
User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 3149
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 1190 times
Been thanked: 630 times
Contact:

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by Didneywhorl »

x-code wrote: Tue May 18, 2021 9:19 am How to change IMEI?
Due to the legality of the changing of IMEI on devices in the US and the fact that this forum is hosted in the US, we can't talk about that here. You can find it with search engines. The modem is Quectel, and the way is the same for all Quectel modems.
User avatar
JoshKelly
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 6:26 am
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by JoshKelly »

Didneywhorl wrote: Tue Jan 19, 2021 1:23 pm There is a command in there that allows you to define your top 3 bands you prefer. I've not seen how well it works though. I'd have to dig. Its under the QENG command set I think, but it may be under NWPREFCFG commands.
Is there a way to set priority on the EM160 to below:?

1: 30
2: 12
3: 66

Mine wants to connect to 66, 12, 2 which results in less than 10mbs.

If I lock it to 30, 12 I get over 80mbs.

I have tried to lock 66 and 30 but 66 won't CA with 30 for some reason?

Band 66 use to be awesome in my area but ever since they added 5G in the area it is terrible.

I generally have left it to autoscan with all the bands in the past but if I don't lock 30 and 12 it is pretty much not useable.

Also I am having problems with not staying connected to the same tower, which also results in bad speeds. But that is for a different time and probably thread.
User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 3149
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 1190 times
Been thanked: 630 times
Contact:

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by Didneywhorl »

closest you can do is: AT+QCFG="lte/bandprior",30,12

I believe that's the one

Run the commands AT+QCFG=?
and AT+QNWCFG=?
and AT+QNWPREFCFG=?


to get a list of all the possible commands.
punkguy00017
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 1:45 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by punkguy00017 »

Can someone make a cheat sheet of all the commands
User avatar
JoshKelly
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 6:26 am
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Quectel EM160 AT commands

Post by JoshKelly »

Didneywhorl wrote: Thu Jun 30, 2022 3:26 pm closest you can do is: AT+QCFG="lte/bandprior",30,12

I believe that's the one

Run the commands AT+QCFG=?
and AT+QNWCFG=?
and AT+QNWPREFCFG=?


to get a list of all the possible commands.
Thank you so much :)!
Post Reply

Return to “Tutorials”